Thursday, July 18, 2024

Scandinavian Airlines (SAS) to join SkyTeam on September 1

Scandinavian Airlines (SAS) will officially join the SkyTeam Alliance as of September 1, 2024. The two companies have officially signed an Alliance Adherence Agreement (AAA), serving as an important step toward SAS’ official entry into the global airline alliance. SkyTeam and SAS are committed to ensuring a seamless transition for all customers. From 1 September 2024, SAS will officially become a part of SkyTeam, enriching the alliance with the best access to Scandinavian key hubs. This collaboration will bolster SkyTeam’s global network, offering new destinations, enhanced connectivity, and a more seamless, elevated customer journey for all travellers.

SAS has been a member of the Star Alliance since 1997, when it founded the alliance with Air Canada, Lufthansa, Thai Airways, and United Airlines.

From the moment SAS joins SkyTeam, EuroBonus members will enjoy benefits across most SkyTeam airlines. EuroBonus Silver members will be recognized as SkyTeam Elite level, while Gold and Diamond members will be recognized as Elite Plus. This will offer them access to a network of 750+ airport lounges and SkyPriority services at eight airport touchpoints including priority check-in, boarding and baggage handling.

“EuroBonus members will be able to enjoy new destinations and benefits as part of the SkyTeam alliance family, marking the start of an exciting future for customers, partners, and employees alike,” said Anko van de Werff, president and CEO of SAS. “SAS customers will benefit from SkyTeam’s strong global presence in many of the world’s major aviation hubs and from its focus on strategic partnerships and innovative sustainability initiatives.”

While SAS Eurobonus members will no longer be able to earn and spend miles with the likes of Air Canada and Lufthansa, they’ll benefit from new relationships with Air France, Delta, KLM, and more.

The Eurobonus members’ status will also be matched to an equivalent SkyTeam status. Silver members will be granted SkyTeam Elite status while Gold and Diamond members will automatically become SkyTeam Elite Plus.

Current SkyTeam members will welcome the news, as they will now be able to earn and spend points on SAS flights on the airline’s expansive route network from its Copenhagen (CPH), Oslo (OSL), and Stockholm (ARN) hubs. SkyTeam members serving SAS’ hubs include Air France, KLM, Delta Air Lines and Middle East Airlines.

- Advertisement -spot_img

Popular Categories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Posts

Popular Posts

- Advertisement -spot_img

Related News

Must read